Of Course You Realise… that this 11-year-old girl has more grit, determination, and discipline than most of us ‘professionals’

It’s been a while since I did a random post of something I found online!

But I just had to share this one. For some context: I was researching rock climbing videos because I was writing a scene where Longinus watches Rory execute a very difficult climb, and sometimes I like to have visuals of what I’m describing so I can better capture details/movements etc.

That scene wound up on the cutting room floor, but this video I found stayed with me. This girl is amazing, and not just because at 11 she’s breaking world records in rock climbing.

How seriously she takes her climbing, her dedication, focus, and discipline at such a young age really puts me and most people I know to shame. That girl’s got some serious chops!

My two favourite quotes from the video:

“To be a really good climber, you can’t just have it. You have to train really hard, so I take it pretty seriously” (an understatement when you see the training she does)

“I like to look for challenges, it keeps me motivated. I don’t like doing the same thing all the time… If I don’t make a route, it’s just motivating because I don’t want to leave it undone.”

Replace climber/route with writer or any other kind of profession, and that’s a pretty perfect summary of discipline, focus, and perseverance! It makes for a very good kick up the arse if you’re feeling unmotivated or falling prey to procrastination…

 

3 thoughts on “Of Course You Realise… that this 11-year-old girl has more grit, determination, and discipline than most of us ‘professionals’

Leave a Reply

