Of Course You Realise… How to walk on water.

Ok before I explain the random post title, a quick update. I know I’ve been absent for *ahem* far too long. I’m discovering that when I go through a period of intense/heavy writing, I seem to completely fall off the grid when it comes to blogging, to say nothing of general social media.

It’s not just that if I’ve had a big day my brain is too frazzled to focus on writing or reading blog posts, I also sometimes think I’m a special breed of introvert who gets all the interaction she can handle in a day if she spends too long in characters’ heads. You know that special kind of ‘drained’ feeling you sometimes get after you’ve had a busy day full of people? I often get that feeling after a big writing day, even if I haven’t spoken to anyone all day, so then all thoughts of social media interaction go flying out the window.

Anyway I don’t mean to fall off the grid like that — I know I did the same thing this time last year when I was writing The Viper and the Urchin — and I’m coming to the realisation that it’s going to be inevitable every time I work on a new book. So I hope you guys don’t mind too much! I’ll try to put something up about locking myself in the writing cave next time it happens (my cave, if you must know, is kind of like the batcave, but with books and tea and a computer rather than super cool gadgets)

I am now back to full operating form though, and the first draft of The Black Orchid, sequel to The Viper and the Urchin, is finished (hurrah!) with the second draft well on its way.  While I was gone I’ve also outlined and started writing a prequel novella to the series (anyone interested in Rory’s past stay tuned!), I have a rough story outline for book 3, as well as the basic plot points for a completely separate duology that will take place in Victorian London. Busy, busy time and lots to look forward to! 🙂

Now, onto the blog post. To give you some background, the other day I googled ‘how to walk on water’ — because, writer. This was genuine work, not one of my aimless internet rambles (although it did turn into one) and after sifting through the ubiquitous (but hilarious) videos of people falling into pools, I came across this:

A group of men literally walking on water. If you don’t want to watch the whole thing, fast forward to 1:50 where you can see one impressive shot of the guy actually running on water. The guys talk about the science of it, the water repellent shoes, the speed, the curve of the trajectory creating enough momentum…

Doesn’t it seem amazing? If you’re anything like me you’ll get all swept up in the excitement of such an achievement, maybe you’ll even bounce over to your better half and enthusiastically explain about the speed, the curve, the water repellent shoes…

And then brain kicks in, pulling out remnants of physics lessons from high school – no, the curve of a trajectory shouldn’t be enough to prevent an upright person from sinking into the water.

Turns out the whole thing is a hoax by the company who produces the clothes and the shoes. There were submerged platforms just under the water for the guys to run on. Epic disappointment. I guess Jesus retains the monopoly on walking on water.

Of course there’s always the option of making yourself walking on water shoes. In fact if you ever have polystyrene boxes and too much time on your hands, you could do something like this:

PS: Walking on water didn’t make it into the story in the end. Turned out to be a dead end, much like liquid mountaineering itself!

24 thoughts on “Of Course You Realise… How to walk on water.

  1. There is a way to walk on liquid, but it has to be a non-Newtonian liquid or something like that.

    If you’re going to be in a writing cave, you could schedule posts in advance or get some guest posts going. If you don’t want to let the blog go on hiatus for a bit, that is. Looking forward to the new book.

    Like

    • I just looked up non-newtonian fluid, that looks really odd! lol
      You’re totally right I should schedule posts. I keep thinking that I won’t go on hiatus and then it just sort of happens so I need to plan for it next time 🙂

      Like

  2. Celine, I was wondering where you’ve gone.
    I’m happy to know you were having fun, I’m also happy you’re back 🙂

    Can’t wait to read you’re post, especially if you’ll updating us about your many writing endeavours… and don’t forget that you own us a post about your routine day 😉

    Like

  3. Yeah, I kept thinking the water must be shallow in parts, because it seemed like they kept falling in around the same place.

    I also get tired sometimes from lots of writing. So glad you’ve been busy in the writer cave and that you have lots of new stories on the way! Good stuff! 😀

    Like

  4. They do make it look pretty cool – maybe someday they’ll come up with a shoe that will let you do it for real. I heard something about those Back to the Future hover boards coming out but maybe that was a hoax too – just imagine all the injuries if kids started flying around.

    Like

  5. First of all, welcome back. I wondered where you were. But I can understand the need to focus on your writing.
    I’m amazed that people actually tried to run on water. It’s great that they succeeded.

    Like

  6. This makes me think of that feeling I got as a child when the strong wind would blow me and I could pretend that I was flying by jumping in the air. 🙂 Sounds like you are on a roll – glad the writing is going well!

    Like

    • Oh I did that too as a kid! I did get to ‘fly’ once when a large kite got taken by a gust of wind and I got dragged after it. Not as much fun as I’d expected 😉 And yes writing is going very well at the mo, just had a very good day in fact 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

