A Long, Tough Winter

It has been one long, tough winter for the plants on our roof terrace. They had to deal with inept gardeners as The Hubs and I took turns overwatering and underwatering them, they had to survive an onslaught by mealey bugs and white flies (horrid little critters, both of them), and then after they’d survived all that, they were subjected to Poppy’s unusual brand of botanical experiments: namely digging up said plants, and seeing how they fared with their roots in the air and their leaves in the ground (the answer to that one: not well).

The Hubs and I have taken to viewing this as a form of Darwinian selection — only the fittest survived the winter. Well, let me tell you, no plant is as fit or as strong, or as Dawinianly superior as the pineapple plant.  Because check it out, we have not just one, but two pineapples growing.

IMG_3865 IMG_3866Chuffed doesn’t even begin to cover how pleased I am that we have managed to keep something alive and see it bear fruit. And since these pineapples are so special, I think they deserve more than being eating normally once they’re ripe. I want to do something amazing with them.

Do any of you know of a good pineapple recipe?

34 thoughts on “A Long, Tough Winter

  1. Look at it this way: you’ve managed to weed out the unworthy. Only the most noble of plants will survive. Enjoy! (As for me, I have a horrible green thumb. I’m also not a pineapple eater so I can’t offer up any recipes.)

    Like

    • I’ve never really thought of using pinterest for recipes, although the internet just informed me that’s one way it’s quite widely used so I’m going to have to investigate. I can already tell I’m going to waste hours trawling through beautiful recipes and photos. Farewell writing and productivity! 😉

      Like

  2. Wow what a wonderful sight! Good on those pineapples! You could always juice them (and add the pulp to pudding or if you bake bread?) or just eat them straight! Let us know!

    Like

      • No, neither have I Celine! I would just add so as not to waste the pulp IF I just juiced them! Ok I’m thinking here of a pudding – beat cream till seriously thick, add pulp and other fruits and blend/mix in …and whatever crumbly else …

        Like

      • Ooooh, this sounds really nice. You sound like you know what you’re doing — I’ll have to go find a recipe for something like that online, unless I have exact instructions to follow, it tends to be a disaster 🙂

        Like

    • Well, that’s the question. For now I’ve been sniffing them, and pulling at the leaves that sprout from the top — basically what I do when buying pineapple at the supermarket 🙂 Let’s hope it works!
      Oh and we definitely don’t have a green thumb, I think pineapple plants are basically indestructible, that’s why they survived 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Félicitations. Je suis très fière de ma fille, !!!!!
    Telle mère……..
    Par contre je ne peux t’aider pour les recettes. Le meilleur pour moi est de les manger sans recette juste le fruit.
    Je peux par contre te donner des recettes d’épinard ou de chou si tu veux…..

    Like

  4. I have never had plants that bore fruit for me. That must be special 🙂

    Well, as for recipes, there’s one I do, though that’s usually with canned pineapple. You soak plain bisquits in the pineapples juice (here’s where you need the canned one), place a layer on a plate, cover in whipped cream, cover in chopped pineapple, then start all over until you finish off all the stuff.
    Then place in the fridge for at least one night.

    I actually do this with different fruits (I have a peach/strawberry one in my fridge right now). I added sugar to the strawberries and they let out their juice, which I used to soak the buisquits. Don’t know whether pineapples would do the same.

    If you try it, let me know how it turned out 🙂

    Like

  5. How exciting to see these fruits! When I lived in Brazil, we used to eat them very simply, just with the grated zest of a lime on the pineapple slice (it adds a pretty green color to it as well). Bravo!

    Like

      • I lived there for a long time early in my life but have had the chance to go back often for work more recently which has been great. The fruits there are amazing! The papaya, the gauava…. Miam, miam!!

        Like

      • I bet! And so fresh! I’d love to go, I don’t know much of latin America (I’ve only been to Panama where my Aunt and Uncle live), but I’ve always been a bit scared of Brazil — the rumours and stories about the kidnappings and crime are a bit off putting! Is it really as bad as people make it out to be?

        Like

      • It’s not as bad as it used to be but when you go you should always go to designated tourist spots or visit friends so you’re not wandering into places you don’t know aren’t safe. The people are SO charming. It’s like any developing country, a little caution and common sense is necessary but it’s fine otherwise.

        Like

      • Oh well there you go, I was convinced it was really quite bad still out there. I’d love to go, maybe once we’re back in Europe (it’s just so far from Hong Kong!)

        Like

    • I know, I had no idea either! actually if you slice off the top of a pineapple and plant it, you’ll eventually get a pineapple plant. The leaves at the top of the pineapple grow and get bigger and then look like the plants we have now 🙂 (We didn’t plant these from pineapples though, we got them from friends who were leaving Hong Kong — they did all the hard work 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

