L is for… Love

*The theme for my A to Z is Childhood Stories. Some are real, some are embellished, some are downright fictional but are based on the kind of things I imagined when I was younger.*

Today’s letter is L for love, or first love to be precise. The subtitle to this story could beย Seduction by Pencil Case.

My very first crush was when I was five. His name was Monsieur Charbonel, and he was my teacher. I don’t actually know his first name (teachers don’t really have first names when you’re young, do they?) and I don’t really remember what he looked like, other than he had darkย hair. Very handsome dark hair, mind you.

One afternoon, when we were reaching the end of class, I finished my project a bit before everyone else. The class was noisy as everyone talked.

I put all my pencils in my pencil case, I closed my workbook, and I sat quietly with my arms crossed on my desk. This wasn’t completely innocent – I did it to impress Monsieur Charbonel.

And impress him it did.

He told the class to take example on me because I was behaving so well. I did my best not to grin from ear to ear in what was my very first attempt at playing it cool, but inside I was deliriously happy. I was on cloud nine hundred and ninety-nine.

It was my very first little love story.

20 thoughts on “L is for… Love

      • Ah, I think this is my translation of what I’d say in Italian, of course nobody understands ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I meant that you see a lot of ‘love’ around at Saint Valantine, but this day I nearly saw more than that.

        Like

      • Ahhh, I see! Yes, there were a lot of L for love posts.
        Do you often find that you translate Italian expressions into English? I still get that with French words and expressions, and I’ve been speaking English since I was 5!

        Like

      • Yes. I won’t say that it happenes a lot, but it does happen, especailly with idioms. You know, sometimes you just KNOW it has to be said like that ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

  1. Pingback: X is for… X-traordinary lengths | Celine Jeanjean's Blog: Down the Rabbit Hole

Leave a Reply

