The Boy From The Moon – Speakeasy #169

The Boy from the Moon had arrived at Brigitte’s window one sunny afternoon, as she was doing her homework. His golden hair floated around him like a cloud, and his eyes were of the palest violet. He wore a purple silk waistcoat and a pea green bowtie.

He introduced himself as the Boy from the Moon and offered to take her to the beach. Brigitte accepted, because what little girl would refuse such an invitation from a boy from the Moon?

Off they flew, lifted by the wind.

They listened to the sea in the seashells, ate wild blueberries and cartwheeled on the sand.

When the sun had set, they sat on a rock, watching the sea. The Boy smelt of hot sand and vanilla. It was the happiest moment of Brigitte’s life.

“How did you come here?” she asked.

“I grabbed the tail of a comet,” he replied, as though it was obvious.

“How will you get back? Comets don’t come here very often,” she said, glancing at the sky where the stars twinkled, remaining firmly in their place.

“Oh I don’t need a comet to get back. I will soak myself in sea water and the Moon will pull me in.”

“She will?”

“Yes. Haven’t you heard that the Moon operates the tide?”

Brigitte nodded, she had learnt about that in Science Class, just last week.

“Well,” continued the Boy, “When the tide goes out, I’ll follow it all the way home. Would you like to come?”

Brigitte’s heart soared. She was about to say yes, when she thought of her Mama. She would be worried by now, what would she think if Brigitte didn’t come back? Her Mama often cried now that Pa had gone, telling her that Brigitte was all she had left. If Brigitte went to the Moon, who would look after her Mama?

“Oh…Oh dear,” said the Boy, shaking his head.

“What?”

“You have Responsibilities. I hear they’re very heavy. I’m not sure if the tide will be able to lift you.”

“I don’t have Responsibilities,” protested Brigitte.

“You do, you were just thinking of one.”

Brigitte bit her lip.

“Fine, I won’t think about my Mama. I want to go with you to the Moon.” She could always come back and visit, couldn’t she?

Brigitte took the Boy’s hand and they waded into the water. She gasped from the cold. Waves pushed against her as though they didn’t want her in the sea.

“It’s so cold,” she cried, “we’re going to catch our death.” And if she died, who would look after her Mama?

The Boy turned to look at her, his pale eyes glowing softly in the night, full of sadness.

“Your Responsibilities are too heavy, I can feel them dragging me down.” He stroked her cheek. “I don’t think I can take you with me.”

Brigitte knew then that she couldn’t bear for him to leave her behind. She clung to him fiercely.

“I take it all back, I don’t care about being cold. Please take me with you.”

“I’ll try.”

They waded further until they were treading water. Brigitte spluttered as waves crashed over her head, but still she clung to the Boy.

“It’s starting,” he shouted, “can you feel the tide?”

Brigitte willed herself to feel it. To her dismay she felt nothing, but the Boy’s hand grew faint in hers, as though he was disappearing. She squeezed it harder, and it reminded her of how tight her Mama held onto her some nights.

A large wave crashed into Brigitte, sending her rolling towards the beach. She gasped for breath and looked around for the Boy. She called and called for him, but the sea spread out around her, calm and empty under the moonlit sky. The waves had disappeared with the Boy from the Moon.

 ***

Brigitte put her youngest to bed. Her two other children were already tucked away, reading a bedtime story with their father. When she kissed her baby’s forehead she caught a familiar smell. Hot sand and vanilla. She stood up, heart thumping, but the room was empty. She felt a pinch of sadness.

Brigitte had a good life, a caring husband, loving children… A good life, full of Responsibilities.

Every so often though, she thought of the Boy from the Moon and she found herself wishing she could go back to that beach, and throw herself into the sea without a care for anyone or anything.

It was the only thing she regretted.

Click the badge for more flash fiction, or to find out more.

A quick explanation for those who haven’t come across the Yeah Write Speakeasy before. It’s a flash fiction challenge.The concept is very simple: every week a sentence is given that must be used somewhere in the  flash, and there is a media prompt (photo, art, music, or video) to inspire the piece. Then those who want to take part write a piece of flash fiction of 750 words or less including the sentence, and based on the media prompt, and link up the post to the Yeah Write website (click on the badge above for the link).

I’ve been (lurking) watching people do this for a little while, and finally decided to jump in. The prompt for this week was “It was the one thing she regretted” and the media prompt was the video below.

I had never heard of Pink Martini before but I love that song.

Hope you enjoyed my take on the prompts. And as always thanks for dropping by!

56 thoughts on “The Boy From The Moon – Speakeasy #169

  1. Hello, woman with impeccable taste!
    I’m yet to reply to your comments, but I see you’re a marvelous writer yourself!
    I really like this piece, despite the disappointment in not being able to go along with him.
    If I were her, I think I’d be able to do it in a heartbeat. Makes me selfish, doesn’t it?

    Oh but I’d love the moon…

    Like

    • Oh thank you, so glad you enjoyed it 🙂
      Do you know I think I’d go in a heartbeat too (guess we’re both selfish then!) – because how can you turn down the moon and a boy in a purple waistcoat?! 😉

      Like

  2. Nice touch of metaphor / allegory in this, and I liked the way it felt like a fairy tale at parts (I think we both took a similar approach to the prompt in that way!) Nicely done

    Like

  3. I enjoyed reading this story. While I can empathize with her being bound by responsibility, I’m glad she didn’t go because I think the guilt of leaving would’ve burdened her more.

    Like

      • I’ll stand with you – Dr. Who is on my to-watch list but there’s just no time. I really feel like I’m missing-out

        Like

      • I know, everyone seems to be obsessed with it – we’re definitely missing out.

        Then again there are so many series that if I started watching, I’d have to watch the whole thing and then it’s goodbye life!

        Like

      • I heard that’s amazing – are you enjoying it?

        I binged my way through all of Game of Thrones, have you seen it? The wait until the next season is killing me – think waiting for a whole series to finish before starting to watch is the way forward. Ultimate binging!

        Like

  4. This is so lovely, with a touch of sadness. As a mother, I didn’t want her to go – but as a woman who was once a girl like Brigitte, I kind of wished she had. Wonderful take on the prompts! I’m so glad you decided to take the plunge! 🙂

    Like

  5. I really liked the delicate way you captured the poignancy of a character poised between out-and-out childhood and the growing realisation of what the adult world entails. Lovely and a wee bit sad.

    Like

  6. I see this as a contemplation on suicide. Having to weigh the the benefits and the costs. But the way you crafted it focused more on the joys of living, especially the way you treated the narrator’s and the Boy’s views on her Responsibilities. Whew! You got me thinking. Welcome to the speakeasy!

    Like

    • How interesting, the suicide idea didn’t even cross my mind but you’re so right, it could also totally be a metaphor for suicide.
      So glad you enjoyed the piece and thank you very much for the welcome. I’ve really enjoyed my first foray into the speakeasy so I’ll think I’ll be coming back for more!

      Like

  7. I’m a mother. I was a little worried Brigitte was going to drown in the ocean as a child.

    I love the way she connects the scent of her own child to the Boy. The sequel could have her realizing that her child embodies the Boy…

    I didn’t know about this challenge, but I think I’ll be checking it out.

    This piece was both grounded and ethereal and I love it. =)

    Like

    • Do you know from all the comments it’s pretty obvious that mothers and non mothers have different ways of looking at this story. I don’t have children yet, so I was more thinking about what a shame it was that she was held back from a magical adventure. It’s so interesting how different people have different reactions to the same story….

      So glad you loved it though, thank you so much for reading!

      And it’s definitely worth checking out the Speakeasy, I think it’s a great idea and lots of fun. The next one is next week so have a look – maybe I’ll see you there 🙂

      Like

      • I have to say that motherhood has been a far more magical and fantastical journey than I ever could have imagined. I mean, to think these whole, complete, complex people came from two cells – that the boy who is nearly as tall as me once lived inside of me, that those babies I nursed and rocked might cook for me….no, it’s not always easy, or tidy, or even pleasant….

        But magic? I’ve got almost 13 years of magic! =)

        I might get over to take a look this week, but I might need to wait a bit. I’ve got a fair amount of deck-clearing to do, writing-wise, now that I’ve met my CampNaNo goal…

        But I will be checking it out at some point!

        Like

      • That sounds wonderful and it’s something I’m very much looking forward to when it does happen! 🙂

        The Speakeasy has actually gone on a summer hiatus unfortunately but hopefully I’ll see you there once it kicks off again!

        And congrats for already meeting your NaNo targets halfway through the month! That’s awesome!

        Like

      • Well, the kids and I are going camping this weekend, so I knew I wanted to reach the goal before the trip, because I usually get thrown from writing for a couple of days before and after, and especially during.

        I do still have 25 scenes to write in the WIP, but I can ease up a bit, and still know that I’m making progress on the goal of finishing this third draft by year’s end.

        After summer is a better time for me to look at flash fiction, so I’ll look back then. =)

        We waited a few years after we were married to start a family, and I haven’t regretted that at all. =)

        Like

  8. What a beautiful piece, Celine! I am smelling vanilla now – what a wonderful scent to tie everything together. I especially love the line, “She squeezed it harder, and it reminded her of how tight her Mama held onto her some nights.” Good for you joining the Speakeasy! Maybe I’ll join you there someday. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Sue! So glad you liked it, I had a lot of fun writing 🙂
      You should definitely try the Speakeasy or some other of the writing prompt challenges, it’s a really nice way to get yourself writing…Hope to see you there some time!

      Like

  9. Pingback: Welcome to My Sunday Post for July 13, 2014 | shanjeniah

  10. Wow that was your first entry and you won! That just shows how much talent you have, I loved your story, it was beautiful and deep and could be interpreted at many levels (as you can see in the comments). Well done for writing this and well done for winning you deserve it 🙂
    Ps. I would have checked everyone’s entries before but it’s been a busy week 😦

    Like

    • Thank you! So glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 and thanks for stopping by and reading, I remember Dragon Spark mentioning that you were only able to access the internet from your phone so I’m not surprised it took you a little while to get around to everyone’s stories!

      Like

      • Well it’s hard to get to a computer at my house and it’s just so much easier to use my phone. I’m used to it so I don’t mind but I had little access to Internet lately so I can only now check what others have been up to 🙂

        Like

  11. This was so sweet! I liked the concept you came up with with the prompts you were given. I’ll keep speakeasy bookmarked and maybe give it a try. Which reminds me, I still haven’t written a post drunk… I’ll add it to my list. =D

    Like

  12. What a wonderful read this was, you write so well, there is nothing “too much” and still you create a full picture.
    The story made me think of old Swedish folk tales, that warn people of disappearing in the forest. It was said that women should be careful if they heard violin music while walking in the forest, that could be “näcken”, a naked man sitting in a creek, playing a violin and if you stopped to listen to him, you would go with him and never come back. Men should be weary about a naked woman (“skogsrå”) that would try to make him follow her deeper into the forest, she had long hair and her back was the trunk of a tree. These figures also appear in art and literature from the past. Meeting them means danger, and you have a choice to make.
    I love how your story has elements of this (whether you intended or not), it means you are part of a long universal tradition of storytelling.

    Like

    • Wow, that is such an amazing compliment, thank you!! I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

      Those Swedish folk tales sound really cool, I’ll have to check out Swedish folk stories, I always love finding out myths and legends of other cultures. I had never heard of them so I didn’t infuse those elements on purpose but its wonderful to hear that’s what it reminded you of!

      And also, this is what I love about stories. Every ready gets something different out of them and it makes each reading a unique experience. I love hearing what people got from a story and seeing the diversity of what one story can evoke.

      Like

  13. It’s fantastic, I really enjoyed reading this. A tear for Brigitte’s regret 😢 You did such a great job at creating that sense of regret in the reader. Awesome! A little sad, but awesome!

    Like

  14. I, too, lurk around the speakeasy. I haven’t written any fiction for at least a month 😦 but anyway……I loved this piece. It was full of fantasy with magical realism sprinkled in, my favorite genre. I enjoyed your voice and diction as well. I liked how the child had “Responsibilities” weighing her down, how she didn’t want to leaveher parents yet wanted a part of the moon boy’s magical realm.

    Like

    • You should defo get stuck in, it was really fun! I don’t know if I’ll have much time for it when it starts again because of all the writing for The Book, but I’m definitely going to try my hand at a few more.

      So glad to hear you enjoyed that little piece, I had a lot of fun writing it. Thank you for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

