A Socially Lubricated Glance At The Blog So Far and ROW80 Update

[Full disclosure: I wrote this at an unsuitable time last night, with a few drinks in me. Following the great Hemingway’s advice, I wrote drunk and edited sober. No so much drunk really, as nicely tiddly. If it worked for Hemingway, it sure as hell is good enough for me!]

Ok, don’t judge me, but I’ve been reading through my old blog posts. Yes, I know, it’s a very narcissistic thing to do. In my defence, I’m a tad inebriated, and therefore my judgement is not operating at full capacity.

Anyway, coming home I felt some absurd pride for this little baby of mine, that I’ve written all by myself (*ahem* under close feline supervision of course), so I decided to indulge myself in a little egotistic trip and re-read my old posts. Well holy crap was I in for a shock – my blog is full of typos and grammatical errors! Well maybe not full, but there are enough mistakes for the expression “lashings of” to come into play. The fact that I can spot them through my wine/cocktail goggles means that they must be GLARING.

I’m obviously pretty embarrassed. Apologies to you all (lashings of, again). This is also the sort of thing that highlights the essential role a copyeditor plays in a writer’s life – rest assured that I plan on hiring one before publishing The Book. Anyway, the pride in my blog somewhat deflated after seeing that.

Finally, a question – have you ever gone back to re-read your old blog posts? (Please say yes, I don’t want to be the only self involved blogger in the blogosphere). What did you think? Second question, have you tried drinking and blogging? If you have, please lead me to your posts!


Right, and since it’s Sunday now (I am now writing sober by the way), I’ll sneak in my ROW80 update. Oh, and I also have to admit that in the cold light of hangover morning, I lack the energy and motivation to go back and hunt down my typos. Hope you don’t mind.

I’m not sure whether this is a good thing, but I’ve done most of my goals already. I can’t decide if I pulled a rookie by overestimating how long it would take to get through it all, or if I’ve gone too quickly and the whole thing will fall apart as soon as I start writing the second draft. Only time will tell I guess.

I’ve completed all the world building stuff, and am just missing a couple of smaller character worksheets. I also have re-outlined about a quarter of The Novel with detailed synopses for each scene, although I still need to work on the descriptions a bit more. I have changed things around quite a bit, in fact doing the character worksheets has been a huge help: the plot has significantly evolved as a result. The second draft will be a total rewrite rather than an edit, which is fine because my first draft needed some heavy duty work done to it anyway.

On the reading front, that’s been a bit slow – I should finish Gulliver’s Travels tonight, and get started on Life of Johnson tomorrow.

Right, that’s me for now, wishing you all a good start to the week!

Check out the other ROW-ers here.

16 thoughts on “A Socially Lubricated Glance At The Blog So Far and ROW80 Update

  1. I have read my old blog posts, and it makes me cringe. In fact, I recently wrote a post on the subject and plan to post it in a couple weeks (just haven’t got around to using it yet). Glad to see I’m not the only one. 🙂

    Like

    • It’s a bit like watching yourself on video or hearing a recording of your voice isn’t it? Unpleasant all around.

      I’m impressed at your blogging forward planning – but then you are a wise and seasoned blogger, I’m still working out my arse from my elbow 😉

      Like

  2. I’ve read my old ones more than once and kind of cringe but also wish I could repost a couple that no one saw because no one was reading me yet. I haven’t yet written and posted while enjoying a cocktail, but all I can say, Celine, is if you can correctly spell inebriated, it’s INCONCEIVABLE that you’ve drunk enough to be inebriated. Have another glass 🙂

    And Carrie – I look forward to your post also. I think looking back is a good thing to do (even if a tad narcissistic), and I do wish we’d have a week of “reblog your favorites” each year 😉

    Like

    • Haha, LOVE how you slipped in a Princess Bride reference there.

      Remember that I edited sober, so could do a sober spelling check. 😉 Thank god or the post would have dribbled typos all over everyone’s keyboards, that’s about as eloquent as I was at the time of writing! But I like where your head’s at, only good things can happen with another glass…right?

      Like

  3. I don’t think you’re alone in re-reading past posts. I’ve done that before and at times cringe myself. What I haven’t tried though is write drunk and edit sober. I really want to try it now. I think I might do it later in the week… Celine are you becoming a bad influence or a great one? I can’t decide..

    Like

  4. I sometimes reread my old blog posts just to remind myself what I said so I don’t keep repeating it — or so I don’t assume that I gave details about something that I actually forgot to mention at all. 🙂

    I’ve never blogged while drunk, because I don’t drink enough to become inebriated. I have on occasion blogged while under the influence of caffeine, which I’ve been told has a similar effect on me.

    Like

    • We complement each other – I don’t drink coffee, so I don’t really ever blog under the influence of caffeine. I suppose there is a little in tea, but not that much!

      It can be hard to keep track of all the blogs posts and what you’ve written – I imagine even more so for someone who like you has been keeping a blog for a few years!

      Like

  5. I’ve been posting some of my old posts to commemorate one year of blogging and I have to say I’ve fought the urge to completely rewrite them, but decided to leave them as is to show how much I’ve progressed since then (hopefully).

    Like

  6. Sometimes I read old post too. It’s amazing how far we all have grown and how much we learned and lived. A humble inspiring way to go back at the past, laugh at our mistakes, remember both the good and the bad, to be grateful of how things turned out to be even if it has so mant imperfections. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

