W is for Not Wasting Time

Sorry I’m late guys! Hours Days of my life have been sucked away into the Black Hole that is watching Game of Thrones, and I’m ashamed to say I *may* have forgotten about my W post this weekend. Can you blame me though?

The good news is, I’m all caught up now, which means I can have a life once more (and write timely blog posts).

Anyway, on with the show.

Today I wanted to share a quote with you that I’ve found invaluable as far as getting me motivated in the morning. I realise that having wasted most of a weekend watching the battles and politics of Westeros unfold, I am not the most qualified person to talk about not wasting time – or maybe I am, as a time wasting expert.

It’s so easy to get waylaid, to procrastinate, to find things that need doing. There’s always tomorrow, I’ll wait until Monday to start, I need this *perfect* situation (which never comes) to do what I need to do. We’ve all been there.

Screen shot 2014-04-28 at 08.42.06

The quote comes from Jeff Goins’s ‘Writer Manifesto’, click on the photo to go to his blog.

It doesn’t have to be writing, it can be any long term goal – all long term goals are best achieved by chipping at it a little every day.

I find this quote very powerful. It strips away all the anxiety about publishing (or the non writing equivalent), about success and failure, it removes any pressure, any fears. It brings it all back down to the bare essentials. There is only today, and today we must write.

I thought I’d share it all with you  in case you needed a little motivation too. Are you going to write today?

Do you have anything you use for motivation? If so, I’d love to hear!

6 thoughts on “W is for Not Wasting Time

  1. This is a great quote. Thank you for sharing. I know I need a kick in the butt every now and then to get me going. But Game of Thrones is awesome so if you have to waste time on something that doesn’t seem so bad. 😛

    I’ll have to write that quote down or print it out and hang it where I can see it everyday. Good post today even if it was a bit late.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this quote. I absolutely love it and needed to read it today!
    Have to say if you’re going to waste time there’s no better way to do it than to watch Game of Thrones. I can’t wait to get home from work and watch last night’s episode. 🙂

    Like

  3. I see I’m not the only one who was late with their “W” post. 😉 My weekend was overtaken by my kids sporting events, but I love watching them play and they are moments you can’t get back.

    Like

    • Oh, you are putting me to shame! Spending time with your kids is a genuine reason to neglect your blog. Having no self control nor the ability to stop watching Game of Thrones isn’t. But all that matters is that we made it to the end, one way or another!

      Like

Leave a Reply

