R is for Reading

Not very original – I know. I’m quite curious actually to see what others have said in their R is for Reading posts, as I imagine there will be quite a few!

Up until recently, I never used to understand people who didn’t have the time to read. Maybe it’s because I grew up without a TV but I read all the time. And I do mean all the time. When I was younger my mother would have to call me several times to come down for dinner, and I’d walk downstairs still reading. I’d sneak the book onto my lap, and eat and read until I got told to put the book away during dinner. So I’d balance it on the radiator behind me, and crane my neck to carry on reading in between mouthfuls.

Admittedly, I’ve taken it a little bit too far at times. I’ve made myself carsick from reading more times than I can count (I have even tried to read on winding mountain roads – needless to say I walked out of the car looking very pale), I’ve even read whilst walking and have walked into lampposts on several occasions (the most embarrassing time was when I apologised thinking it was a person. Yes people saw and heard me do that. I was 16 and mortified.) All worth it when in the middle of a captivating book!

Recently though, life has been getting in the way.  It’s wonderful to have lots of projects on but between that, the life admin stuff that is somehow always ongoing (does anyone ever get to the bottom of life admin?), spending time with the husband, and on occasion being sociable – there is very little time left for reading.

The thing about reading though, is that it’s time for you and only you. Even watching TV or watching a film is something you can do with someone. But unless you’re into reading aloud, it’s a solitary activity. There’s therefore something luxurious about curling up with a good book, in that you get to be utterly selfish for a bit, tune out the rest of the world and everyone in it, and just enjoy the story unfolding in front of you.

It can be very easy to forgo that little luxury because other things need our attention, deadlines, people needing us for something, bills to be paid, emails to be answered, etc. Reading gets pushed to the back of the queue and it’s very easy never to get around to it.

I don’t know about you, but finishing my day reading a good book, even if just for half an hour or so, makes all the difference. It’s the difference between actually falling asleep and tossing and turning with my mind whirring at 100mph as I whizz through my to do list, what I’ll need to do the next day, The Book…There’s always something.

I’ve made a little rule for myself that the last hour of my day is, no matter what, for reading, and I’ve been quite strict about sticking to it. It’s made such a difference, even though it feels quite contrived to have a rule about reading. Best decision I’ve made in a while!

And in fact, I’m going to finish this post now because it’s coming up to my reading time for the day (currently reading The Wizard of Earthsea – I know I must be the only person who hasn’t read it yet. Loving it so far though!)

How about you, do you find it easy to put aside reading time? What are you reading at the moment?

5 thoughts on “R is for Reading

  1. I’ve always loved reading. The only time in my life I had trouble finding time to read was after having my son. Missing it so much, I make sure to grab a few minutes here and there during the day, and then take a bit of time before bed to sit down with a book and unwind as I read. Good luck with the rest of the Challenge! 🙂

    Visiting on behalf of Untethered Realms for the A to Z Challenge.

    Like

  2. Pingback: S is the title of an incredible book, and one that might be spelling the future of physical books. | Celine Jeanjean's Blog

  3. Je suis très fière d’avoir ete (sans m’en rendre compte) un peu responsable de ton amour pour les livres. Par contre ca n’a pas été le cas pour Guillaume et Laure qui pour eux c’est toujours reste une corvee
    On se régale a lire ton blogue régulièrement même si je ne mets pas toujours un commentaire

    Like

    • Ah, ça me fait plaisir que le blog vous plaise! Et c’est super de recevoir des commentaires (c’est par contre en répondant que je me vais probablement me planter en Français, heureusement je pense que vous êtes les seuls Français à me lire!)

      C’était amusant de me rappeler de ces fois quand je descendais a la cuisine en lisant. Je n’ai pas beaucoup changé, j’ai essayé de lire sur le treadmill il n’y pas longtemps et je me suis cassé la figure! Comme quoi 29 ans ça ne veut pas dire que je suis sensée (wise – j’ai du faire google translate pour trouver ça. C’est une catastrophe!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

