On Green but Ghostly Hong Kong

Today I thought I would take you on a little trip to my part of the world.

If you think of Hong Kong, you probably think concrete jungle, hectic, lots of noise, lots of taxis, lots of horn beeping, shopping malls, and wet markets with viscera dripping onto the floor. Well you’d be right (especially on that last part, there’s a butcher at the end of my street where there is always a combination of lungs, livers, hearts, the odd brain, tongue etc hanging off hooks out in the open. I’ll leave you to imagine the smell in the summer….)

But the amazing thing about Hong Kong island (which is where I live) is that 60% of it is not built on. It’s just green, rolling hills, amazing for hiking. These hill climb up quite high so that when it’s overcast you can easily find yourself hiking inside the clouds, making it a very cool and eerie experience:

photo 3

When I took the photo above, the fog was so thick I really couldn’t see anything beyond what’s in the photo. It felt a bit like I was reaching the end of the world, and that there was nothing beyond the lamppost or the barrier!
photo 2 (1)

photo 3 (1)The trees were wonderfully creepy – reminded me a bit of the forest in Beauty and the Beast (the Walt Disney film)

photo 2 (2)

photo 1 (2)
IMG_1252

This particular bit made me think of the Hound of Baskerville. I also started to tell myself that this would be the perfect conditions to murder someone. After that I jumped out of my skin at every sound (I was alone) – I had to run the end as was starting to get a bit freaked out. All very silly!

IMG_1261

And then just one last one, of clouds rolling in over Hong Kong.

Did that look different from what you think of Hong Kong?

10 thoughts on “On Green but Ghostly Hong Kong

    • Oh cool, will it be your first time Hong Kong, or have you been before?

      I love Dragon’s Back (the views! Plus there’s enough of a climb to feel like you got some exercise), Mount Butler (with Jardine’s Lookout first) is pretty cool, and when I want to get a sweat on, The Twins + Violet Hill. I live in Happy Valley so they’re all just 5 min away.

      If you get the chance, check out the Maclehose (100km trail up in the New Territories) at the end of the first stage there is the most amazing beach called Tai Long Wan, and you can camp overnight there, they provide you with tents etc. It’s beautiful up there and very remote

      Like

    • Oh just popped by your blog – I would definitely recommend looking into the New Territories when you come here. The hikes are beautiful up there (there’s loads I have yet to do)

      Give me a shout if you need any recommendations whilst you’re out here 🙂

      Like

  1. Oh, loved it, especially the images. I did not know that 60% of Hong Kong island was not developed, and it makes me very happy to know that.

    I agree about that Hound of the Baskervilles photo – that is just what it looks like.

    Best of luck with the rest of the challenge!

    Like

    • The greenery makes all the difference, I love the fact that I live in one of the busiest cities in the world and yet I can go hike every morning and get away from it all.

      Glad you enjoyed the photos and thank you for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

